ok that was pretty interesting

Honestly folks I have to admit I wasn’t that jazzed about Sly doing Rambo 5 or whatever number it is.  I felt the last one was so totally kick ass balls to the wall old school action there’d be no need to do another one. Then there was the possibility of shooting in Bulgaria which really didn’t appeal to me so I was thinking I might have  to sit this one out. But that all changed after my oh so interesting conversation with Sly on Saturday about the new Rambo.   I told him how happy I was after reading Zablo’s blog in which Sly said that he had changed the storyline. And while I have utmost respect for Sly’s writing and directing ability I just wasn’t psyched about John Rambo going Predator like on me.  So I told Sly that I was excited about him tackling the subject of the brutality women and children caught in the drug wars in Mexico face.  He spoke passionately about shining the high beams on the situation.  He said he is doing tons of research and the deeper he digs the more complex and dangerous the subject matter becomes.  It was clear this story has struck a chord in him so I am expecting a lot of intensity.  He commented it will be a brutal shoot…more brutal than The Expendables I asked…oh yeh he said.  Ok now I’m hooked. But I had to ask…what about Bulgaria. Absolutely not was the answer (phew). It will be shot in the US, probably somewhere in the southwest where there’s desert – perhaps New Mexico.  He is hoping for a spring 2010 start.  Me too

31 Responses to “ok that was pretty interesting”

  1. Jesper Elb Jespersen Says:

    Super news!

  2. Kain424 Says:

    It’s good that Sly is staying current with his films. While the subject was covered a bit in TAKEN, it wouldn’t hurt to see more coverage.

    Oh, and Rambo would crush Brian Mills any day. Though a team-up would be pretty sweet. Can’t wait to see where Sly goes with this.

    Thanks for your updates!

    >:-)

  3. Jason Price Says:

    Very cool to see Sly taking on some very important issues. He never ceases to amaze me… he is a class act all the way.

    Thanks for keeping us updated and Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

  4. Potro1980 Says:

    Thank you so much :)

  5. Potro1980 Says:

    Who is Brian Mills??

  6. Andrew Says:

    Now that is what I’m talking about :)

  7. Potro1980 Says:

    I think that is good that Expendables will be pg 13 and give us in exchange another Rambo rated R, I accept the deal, hehe ;)

  8. Steve Kasan Says:

    Sheryl, I agree with you as well about Rambo tacking this issue than fighting a creature. It does not fit into the cannon of Rambo films as each film has tackled a real wordly subject.
    I am sure Mr. Stallone will bring to light how important this issue is and having it be graphic in detail only heightens the fact that this is a really important subject.
    I would love to have a role in some capacity in this project. I was the one with the Expendables audition video.

  9. Brian Slyfanuk Says:

    Thank you for keeping us fans who are members of Craig Zablos website Stallonezone from the Uk updated on progress. We look forward to The Expendables and also the plan for another Rambo. We are a small group from the UK who would appreciate so much the opportunity you have to meet and chat to Mr Stallone and we can only dream that could be us. Please keep us in mind and mention to Mr Stallone SLYFANUK@googlemail.com cheers Brian

  10. Mark Says:

    HAPPY THANKSGIVING everyone! Ok, I love that Sly is making RAMBO V real like part 4 was. I hope this Rambo film is like CLEAR AND PRESENT DANGER. Thank you Sly for making another kick ass Rambo film. Now can you please talk to Arnie about making some hard core, hard R 70 million budget violent intense action films like you are doing. I mean, can’t Arnie just do SGT.ROCK or even DOC SAVAGE. I know Arnie has seen AVATAR and can’t wait until he does BATTLE ANGEL with Jim. Maybe Sly can be apart of one of Camerons future films too.

  11. Kev Brock Says:

    Honestly, I thought Rambo vs. this beast monster was actually a cool idea. If you all think about it. The sci fi story would be totally different and not just a typical rescue mission like the earlier Rambo films. Now we’re going back to the same rescue missions like the first four were. I was actually kind of dissapointed Sly changed the storyline, but whatever Sly wants to do, I’ll appreciate and respect his work. The beast monster thing maybe controversial and kind of crazy, but at least it got everyone talking. Whatever Sly wants to do, I’ll take.

    Kev

  12. Mark Says:

    But if RAMBO V is more CLEAR AND PRESENT DANGER than TAKEN, it will be awesome!

  13. Mark Says:

    Kev or even Sheryl, do you think Arnie would still make a great SGT.ROCK? Or do you think the role should go to a younger action star?

  14. Potro1980 Says:

    Hahaha Kev you always saying the contrary ;) I like this plot for Rambo 5, and not the plot with the man-beast creature… and too, another plot like Metal Gear Solid 1 for Psx would be awesome I think, but this is ok.

    • Kev Brock Says:

      Whatever dude, it’s not a crime to have the same opinions right? I can have a different opinion then everyone else, all I want to. I liked the Rambo vs. Beast idea and Sly didn’t have to change it just because so many people didn’t like it. We should have an original Rambo storyline, not the same repeat rescue missions. Bringing sci-fi in was a good idea.

      I can understand why people didn’t like Sly doing sci fi is because he’s an action star and people don’t see him do sci fi. If you all give him a chance with the sci-fi, I’m sure he would do a good job.

      On the stallonezone, Sly said he’s still doing the “man vs. beast” storyline, but not with Rambo, he still plans on doing it but with a different actor playing the lead. It’ll probably be the “Hunter” novel being turned into a movie.

      Kev

      • Potro1980 Says:

        Yes, I would like Rambo with sci-fi too, but not with the man-beast, I would like something similar Metal Gear Solid 1, don´t you agree with me Kev? and Hunter as another film is not a bad idea, why not? I want that Sly makes a lot of action movies :D

  15. Mark Says:

    Relax guys, it’s THANKSGIVING, so Happy T-day!

  16. Andrew Says:

    HUNTER will be made into a big budget film. Now that is great news. Hopefully after RAMBO 5.

  17. Kev Brock Says:

    Seriously, you have to admit, this story of big action heros rescuing the missing and killing the drug lords has been told hundreds of times over the years of film making. Is this the best Sly can come up with? I honestly expected more from Sly.

    I would much prefer Sly remaking “Death Wish” or do “Poe” next, if he’ll ever get around to ‘em. Those projects sounds a lot more interesting than “Rambo 5″ or “Hunter”, in my opinion.

    Kev

  18. Potro1980 Says:

    Read this:”Rambo is living is his recently deceased father´s ranch, he lives relaxed, retired of the military life, suddenly governement´s militaries go to see Rambo requiring his help: A cell of special forces have rebeled in a secret base in alaska,this rebels are soldiers manipulated genetically, a top secret elite of the special forces, they have some hostages, some very important politic men and more vips. this rebels threaten with kill all of hostages if their demands are not met… So Rambo, accept the mission one last time and go to Alaska to infiltrate in the enemy´s base, rescue the hostages and end the uprising… when Rambo finds the leader of the rebel special forces he can´t believe that he is seeing, he looks amazement that this person is phisically identical to him, but more young… this soldier is the succes of a long and expensive proyect to create a Rambo´s clon, a clon of the greatest soldier of the 20 century, so Rambo will be the Big Boss…”. This plot would be AWESOME guys, or not?

  19. Andrew Says:

    Kev, your mind is limited if that’s all you think RAMBO 5 will offer. It will be much deeper than that and offer MUCH MUCH more.

    As for DEATH WISH…I would still prefer Sly drop that film or just produce it.

    POE is a must. It’s his masterpiece.

    HUNTER is a must. It’s his BIG BUDGET SCI FI EXTRAVAGANZA.

  20. Andrew Says:

    Potro, sounds corny, lol.

  21. Kev Brock Says:

    I think Sly remaking “Death Wish” will be promising. You don’t think Sly will turn “Death Wish” into a bad ass action flick with plenty of violence and blood, but I think he will turn “Death Wish” into exactly that. The original Charles Bronson “Death Wish” was very violent, but I think Sly will make that movie his own.

    Think of “Death Wish” remake as a mix of “Get Carter”, “Cop Land”, and “Cobra”.

    I hope he’ll stick with doing “Death Wish” ’cause I’m interested in seeing his vision of it.

    Kev

  22. Mark Says:

    I’m not against DEATH WISH but I’m skeptical…but Sly is a master so…Ok, people should relax and accept that RAMBO V will kick ass no matter what, period. Even Sheryl was skeptical and hated the idea, but now she loves it because she got to sit down with Sly and hear him explain it in person. Either that or Sly told her he would beat her brains in with a bat and she is now afraid to bad mouth RAMBO V…J/K Sheryl LOL. If Sly could sit down and explain to all his fans how cool his RAMBO V idea is, you would all turn and not question the man.

  23. Mike Says:

    Sly mentioned to stallonezone that he would use the man/beast plot for another character…did he mention any more on that sheryl??

  24. Andrew Says:

    The man/beast idea is HUNTER and he will play Hunter in that film.

  25. Mark Says:

    HUNTER sounds awesome. Can’t wait to see Sly direct a big budget sci-fi film like James Cameron’s ALIENS or John McTiernan’s PREDATOR.

  26. Andrew Says:

    Sly needs to go all out with HUNTER and spend 100 million dollars of NU IMAGE’s money. Like the old man said in JURASSIC PARK “spear no expense” :)

  27. Potro1980 Says:

    I want to see Expendables and Rambo V, Hunter would be not bad perhaps, another sci-fi film with Sly sounds interesting, but my preferences are see Rambo V and Expendables before, for this order, and a possible Expendables 2, but all Sly´s (action)films will be welcome for my part.

  28. Craig Zablo’s StalloneZone » Ethelmae Adds to the News Says:

    [...] can read the full reports at Ethelmae’s blog by clicking here and here. – [...]

  29. rado Says:

    hello, greetings from bulgaria :) thank you for all the “expendables” scoop and the “rambo” clarification – good luck!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

